

# Journal of the Indiana Academy of the Social **Sciences**

Volume 19 | Issue 1

Article 1

2016

## Statement from the Indiana Academy of the Social Sciences and **Board of Directors**

JIASS Staff

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.butler.edu/jiass



Part of the Social and Behavioral Sciences Commons

#### **Recommended Citation**

Staff, JIASS (2016) "Statement from the Indiana Academy of the Social Sciences and Board of Directors," Journal of the Indiana Academy of the Social Sciences: Vol. 19: Iss. 1, Article 1. Retrieved from: https://digitalcommons.butler.edu/jiass/vol19/iss1/1

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by Digital Commons @ Butler University. It has been accepted for inclusion in Journal of the Indiana Academy of the Social Sciences by an authorized editor of Digital Commons @ Butler University. For more information, please contact digitalscholarship@butler.edu.



Established in 1929 and incorporated in 1937, the Academy exists to foster communication and collaboration among social scientists across the public and private colleges and universities of Indiana. The Academy is dedicated to the objectives of supporting social science research and dialogue and to promoting the value and visibility of the social sciences in Indiana while providing an environment in which social scientists across the state can interact in cooperation and friendship. The Academy holds an annual meeting and produces *Endnotes* (IASS Newsletter) and publishes the *Journal of the Indiana Academy of the Social Sciences*.

The Academy currently recognizes the following social science disciplines: anthropology, business, criminology, economics, history, geography, psychology, political science, and sociology. Environmental studies, gender studies, urban studies, and international studies utilizing social science perspectives and methods are also represented by the Academy. Others may be added by approval of the Board.

### **BOARD OF DIRECTORS, 2015–2016**

### **Executive Directors**

- **Jonathan Swarts** [President] Purdue University North Central (2013–2016)
- Jaishankar Raman [Vice President]
   Valparaiso University
   (2013–2016)
- **Diane Wille** [Administrative Secretary] Indiana University Southeast (2014–2018)
- Nirupama Devaraj [Executive Secretary]
   Valparaiso University (2014–2018)
- Jim Thomas [Treasurer] Indiana University Northwest (2014–2018)
- Ken Colburn [Senior Editor in Chief of the Journal]
   Butler University (2015–2020)
- Surekha Rao [Past President]
   Indiana University Northwest
- ❖ Bharath Ganesh-Babu (Webmaster) Valparaiso University

#### **At-Large Members**

- **Bruce Bigelow**Butler University
  (2013–2016)
- **Katharine Bohley Martin** University of Indianapolis (2013–2016)
- Christie Byun Wabash College (2013–2016)
- Chuck Gallmeier Indiana University Northwest (2013–2016)
- Ethan Hollander Wabash College (2013–2016)
- Young Kim
  University of Evansville
  (2013–2016)
- **Dulce Maria Scott** Anderson University (2013–2016)
- **Kathleen Tobin**Purdue University Calumet (2013–2016)