

## Journal of Hindu-Christian Studies

Volume 15 Article 14

January 2002

## **Call for Nominations**

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.butler.edu/jhcs



Part of the Religion Commons

## Recommended Citation

(2002) "Call for Nominations," Journal of Hindu-Christian Studies: Vol. 15, Article 14. Available at: https://doi.org/10.7825/2164-6279.1281

The Journal of Hindu-Christian Studies is a publication of the Society for Hindu-Christian Studies. The digital version is made available by Digital Commons @ Butler University. For questions about the Journal or the Society, please contact cbauman@butler.edu. For more information about Digital Commons @ Butler University, please contact digitalscholarship@butler.edu.

## Call for Nominations for the Positions of Vice-President, Secretary, and Board Members, Society for Hindu-Christian Studies

THE Society's Nominations and Elections Committee - Lance Nelson (chair), Leslie Orr, and John Thatamanil - invites nominations for the positions of vice-president and secretary, and for two new board members. Nominees for these offices should be persons willing to serve and generally able to attend the annual meeting, which precedes the annual meeting of the American Academy of Religion.

committee The requests that nominations be sent no later than September 15, 2002 to the chair, Lance Nelson, Department of Theology and Religious Studies, University of San Diego, San Diego, CA 92110 USA, email: lnelson@sandiego.edu, fax: 619-260-2260. Nominees' names will be posted on the Society's website (www.sandiego.edu/hcs-l) as of October 1, 2002.

The vice-president serves for two years, during which time his or her chief responsibility is coordinating planning for the two program session of the Society's annual meeting. After two years, the vice president automatically becomes president for two years.

The secretary serves for four years, and may be re-elected to unlimited consecutive terms. His or her primary responsibilities include taking minutes and board and general meetings (each once a year) and making room and other practical arrangements for the annual meeting.

Board members are responsible for the overall well-being of the Society, and share in the deliberation on all issues related to the operation of the Society, its annual meeting, and its publication, The Bulletin of Hindu-Christian Studies. Board members serve four year terms. Two new board members will be elected this year.

Current elected officers are: Selva J. Raj (Albion College), president; Rachel Fell McDermott (Barnard College), vice-president; Kay K. Jordan (Radford University), secretary; Bradley J. Malkovsky (University of Notre Dame), treasurer and editor, *Hindu-Christian Studies Bulletin*.

Current board members are: Corinne Dempsey (University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point), Deepak Sarma (Salisbury State University), Ronald W. Neufeldt (University of Calgary), John J. Thatamanil (Millsaps College), Leslie Orr (Concordia University), Swami Tyagananda (Ramakrishna Vedanta Society of Massachusetts), Parimal Patil (Emory University), and Paul Younger (McMaster University).

Board members Deepak Sarma and Paul Younger finish their terms this year. Former board members may be nominated to the board, but only after a one year hiatus. They may at any time be nominated for other positions.

The election will occur at the Annual Meeting of the Society for Hindu-Christian Studies in Toronto on November 23, 2002. Members who cannot attend may submit their votes to Lance Nelson, the chair of the Nominations and Elections Committee, by November 10.

Questions about any aspect of the nominations and election process may be addressed to Lance Nelson (address above) or to either of the other members of the committee: Leslie Orr, Department of Religion, Concordia University, Maisonneuve Blvd. W., Montreal, Quebec HG3 1M8 Canada, email: orr@vax2.concordia.ca, or John Thatamanil, Millsaps College, 1701 North State Street, Jackson. MS 39210 U.S.A., thatajj@millsaps.edu